Home - Announcement

Upper School Awards Assembly Honors Class of 2024

St. Andrew’s held its annual Upper School awards assembly on Tuesday morning with special honors and recognitions given to the Class of 2024. Awards were handed out for excellence in academics, arts, athletics, leadership, and equity and belonging.
Head of School Robert Kosasky presented the school’s highest honor, the William Way Award, named for the school’s Founding Board Chair to Pamela Kim (Yale). She received the award for her contributions to the St. Andrew’s community, including SGA President during her senior year and founding the Asian Student Union. The Head of School Award was presented to Matthew Chensavasdijai (Georgetown), the David Mayhood Award to Juliette Naddelman (Tulane), and the Sheila Maith Award for leadership in diversity, equity, and belonging to Adaobi Kamdi Oguchi (Carnegie Mellon).

Longtime English Teacher Andrew Seidman received the Finneran Faculty Scholar Award, which is granted annually to one St. Andrew’s teacher who embodies excellence and commitment to professional growth and is considered the highest recognition a St. Andrew’s teacher can receive. Joshua Cohen (Harvard) was named the valedictorian while Emma Kee (Virginia) was named salutatorian. 

Here is the full list of award winners:

Excellence in English: Zara Koso-Thomas
Excellence in History: Emily Conway
Excellence in Science:  Jasmine Wang
Excellence in Language: Lia Walton
Excellence in Math: Jacob Lehrman
Excellence in Performing Arts: Eliora Adu
Excellence in Visual Arts: Charlotte Clark
Excellence in Philosophy & Religion: Gabriel Martinez

Parents’ Association Award for Sportsmanship: Nariah Goldman
Francisco Hope Garces SGA Award: Joseph Umhofer
William R. Borg Athletes of the Year Award: John Connor Phillips, Reagan Phillips

Senior Paper Award: Zaina Nasim
Richard Klemm Boyd Jr. Art Award: Fiona Nganou
Saints Award: Samuel Sandler, Lucy Ward

Upper School Faculty Award for Ninth Grade: Naira Cagle Vinci
Upper School Faculty Award for Tenth Grade: Kolade Kamil Owoyemi
Upper School Faculty Award for Eleventh Grade: Daniel Lobsenz, Kosette Koons-Perdikis
Alexandra Ryan Award: Melissa Nugent

Salutatorian: Emma Kee
Valedictorian: Josh Cohen
Sheila Maith Award: Adaobi Kamdi Oguchi
David Mayhood Award: Juliette Naddelman
Head of School Award: Matthew Chensavasdijai
WIlliam Way Award: Pamela Kim
St. Andrew’s Episcopal School is a private, coeducational college preparatory day school for students in preschool (Age 2) through grade 12, located in Potomac, Maryland.