Home - Announcement

St. Andrew’s Names D!Lab Interns, Supported by Derek Park Fund

D!Lab Director Charles James announced the 2023 cohort of D!Lab Interns.
D!Lab Director Charles James announced the 2023 cohort of D!Lab Interns on Friday, March 1, whose projects are supported by the Derek J. Park Fund Grant for Creative Innovation. D!Lab interns are certified on the design lab’s 3D printer, laser cutter, and milling machine, and can use each to work on independent projects.

Derek Park was a student at St. Andrew’s from sixth grade through the first trimester of his ninth-grade year when he died on November 26, 2011. Established shortly after his death, the fund has supported St. Andrew’s teachers and Upper School students in their individual and/or collaborative pursuit of innovative research, learning opportunities, and personal development in those areas that interested Derek: nature and the outdoors, art and design, robotics, and scientific experimentation.

This D!Lab Internship opportunity for materials and specialist training was created by the Derek Park Fund. D!Lab Interns are trained in general safety procedures for the D!Lab as well as providing specific machine endorsements. Interns are awarded certification by James, which enables the student to work independently in the lab on individual and class projects, robotics, or new technologies. The interns are announced annually on March 1, which was Derek’s birthday.

Congratulations to all members of the 2024 cohort:

Eliora Adu ’24
Alexander Alarie ’24
Ruth Amha ’26
Jerome Bailey ’26
George Baumgardner ’26
Andre Beracha ’26
Andre Beracha ’26
Samina Bhatia ’25
Matthew Boylen ’27
Rafael Carvalho ’24
Maya Chandra ’26
Aiden Christmas ’25
Joshua Cohen ’24
Sean Connelly ’25
Grant Gilman ’24
Miles Hansen ’24
Connor Herwig ’25
Gramm Hinckley ’27
Alexandra Houck ’25
George Lippard ’26
Daniel Lobsenz ’25
Austin Love ’26
Elias Milam ’24
Kamil Owoyemi ’26
Ian Sabin ’25
William Schneider ’25
Max Schwarz ’27
Lila Segal ’26
Miles Stevenson ’26
Jaylah Thompson ’24
Ethan Voglmayr ’26
Andrew Warfield ’27
Rhian Williams ’25
St. Andrew’s Episcopal School is a private, coeducational college preparatory day school for students in preschool (Age 2) through grade 12, located in Potomac, Maryland.