Upper School Students Recognized for Accomplishments, Contributions to Community

St. Andrew’s held an awards assembly on Tuesday morning for Upper School students that featured special recognitions for the Class of 2023. Awards were handed out for excellence in academics, arts, athletics, leadership, and equity and belonging.
Incoming Board Chair Kellie Bickenbach P ‘26, P‘28 presented the school’s highest honor, the William Way Award, named for the school’s Founding Board Chair. Conor Roberton (Washington and Lee University) received the award for his contributions to the St. Andrew’s community as a class president for three years, SGA president during his senior year, and his leadership on the basketball team, among other accomplishments.

Head of School Robert Kosasky presented the Head of School’s Award to Charlotte Lobring (The College of William & Mary), the David Mayhood Award to Alex Saxton (University of Maryland), and the Sheila Maith Award for leadership in diversity, equity and belonging to Celeste Mondragon (University of Maryland). This award is newly named in honor of outgoing board chair Sheila Maith P '13, P '20.

Longtime Math Teacher Paul Ternes received the Finneran Faculty Scholar Award, which is granted annually to one St. Andrew’s teacher who embodies excellence and commitment to professional growth and is considered the highest recognition a St. Andrew’s teacher can receive. Alex Behram (Cornell University) was named the valedictorian while Lauren Safra (Emory University) was named salutatorian.
Here is the full list of award winners:
Significant Achievement in the Performing Arts: Charlotte Lobring
Significant Achievement in the Visual Arts: Kylie Wilbur
Excellence in Mathematics: Alex Behram
The Stone Taylor Weeks Award for Excellence in the Study of History: Maziar Beiramee
Excellence in Philosophy & Religion: Ella Smith
Excellence in Language: Francisco Aguilar
Excellence in English: Tyler Povinelli
Excellence in Science: Zyley Bender
Parents’ Association Award for Sportsmanship: Slade Summers
Francisco Hope Garces SGA Award: Conor Roberton
William R. Borg Athletes of the Year Award: Auset Bligen, Tinoda Matsatsa
Senior Paper Award: Celeste Mondragon
Richard Klemm Boyd, Jr. Art Award: Lauryn Fowler
Saints Award: Mia Redjaee, Slade Summers
Upper School Faculty Award for Ninth Grade: Maya Chandra
Upper School Faculty Award for Tenth Grade: Melissa Nugent
Upper School Faculty Award for Eleventh Grade: Joshua Cohen, Emma Kee
Alexandra Ryan Award: Pamela Kim
Salutatorian: Lauren Safra
Valedictorian: Alex Behram
Sheila Maith Award: Celeste Mondragon
David Mayhood Award: Alex Saxton
Head of School’s Award: Charlotte Lobring
William Way Award: Conor Roberton
St. Andrew’s Episcopal School is a private, coeducational college preparatory day school for students in preschool (Age 2) through grade 12, located in Potomac, Maryland.