News Detail

Upper School Awards Assembly Celebrates Student Accomplishments

St. Andrew’s held its Upper School Awards Assembly on Thursday morning recognizing the achievements of the Class of 2022. Awards were handed out for excellence in academics, arts, athletics, leadership, and equity and belonging.
Head of School Robert Kosasky presented the school’s highest honor, the William Way Award, named for the school’s Founding Board Chair. Jonas Blum (Northwestern University) received the award for his excellence in the classroom, enthusiasm for learning, and his leadership as an editor of The Mane News and Senior Class President, among other accomplishments.
Kosasky presented the Head of School’s Award to Katia Atiyah (University of Southern California) and the David Mayhood Award to Yulia Molina (Towson University). Preschool Teacher Margy Hemmig received the Finneran Faculty Scholar Award, which is granted annually to one St. Andrew’s teacher who embodies excellence and commitment to professional growth and is considered the highest recognition a St. Andrew’s teacher can receive. Hannah Newman (Duke University) was named the valedictorian while Charles Ryan (Harvard University) was named salutatorian.
Here is the full list of award winners:
Significant Achievement in the Performing Arts: Walker Borgmann
Significant Achievement in the Visual Arts: Katherine Skinner
Excellence in Mathematics: Charles Ryan
The Stone Taylor Weeks Award for Excellence in the Study of History: Sophia Papademetriou
Excellence in Philosophy & Religion: Owen Whitman
Excellence in Language: Matías Heitner
Excellence in English: Samuel Berman
Excellence in Science: Hannah Newman
Parents’ Association Award for Sportsmanship: Julian Haas
Francisco Hope Garces SGA Award: Reid Povinelli
William R. Borg Athletes of the Year Award: Lacey Somwaru, Masai Troutman
Senior Paper Award: Maya Thompson
Richard Klemm Boyd, Jr. Art Award: Thomas Graeub
Upper School Faculty Award for Ninth Grade: Ian Sabin
Upper School Faculty Award for Tenth Grade: Pamela Kim
Upper School Faculty Award for Eleventh Grade: Zyley Bender, Christina Rowe
Alexandra Ryan Award: Mia Redjaee
Salutatorian: Charles Ryan
Valedictorian: Hannah Newman
Leadership in Equity and Belonging Award: Isabella Dodro
David Mayhood Award: Yulia Molina
Head of School’s Award: Katia Atiyah
William Way Award: Jonas Blum
St. Andrew’s Episcopal School is a private, coeducational college preparatory day school for students in preschool (Age 2) through grade 12, located in Potomac, Maryland.