Nineteen Students Inducted Into Cum Laude Society

by St. Andrew's Communications Staff
Nineteen students were virtually inducted into the St. Andrew’s chapter of the Cum Laude Society today. This year’s inductees learned of their selection on Tuesday night through surprise phone and video calls from current Cum Laude Society members and teachers. An Upper School assembly was held Wednesday morning to honor the group.
Nine seniors and 10 juniors were inducted into the Cum Laude Society, which honors the school’s highest academic achievers. From the Class of 2021, Meredith Amick, Kyle Boozer, Caleb EganFrei, Tyler George, Janine Junaideen, Ruitong Liu, Christina Wray, Daniel Xing, and Charley Young were inducted, while Jonas Blum, Oliver Bush, Jason Gan, Sasha James, Aaron Lobsenz, Hannah Newman, Hunter Qin, Charlie Ryan, Lacey Somwaru, and Chloe Wang were inducted from the Class of 2022.
The new inductees were welcomed into the Society by Cameron Behram, Fiona Gallagher, Sarah Kee, Annie Li, Amanda Newcombe, Michelle Qin, Jacob Ravitch, Stephen Speyer, and Caroline Zebrak, members of the Class of 2021 who were inducted last year, as well as Cum Laude faculty members.
During a virtual assembly, the newest members were given the charge by Head of School Robert Kosasky to honor the Cum Laude Society’s three core principles of Honor, Excellence, and Justice.
The Cum Laude Society, which was originally founded in 1906 in Maryland, recognizes outstanding academic achievement as well as the qualities of good character, honor, and integrity in junior and senior students. St. Andrew’s is one of 382 member schools of the Cum Laude Society. Since 1987, St. Andrew’s has inducted 415 juniors and seniors into the Cum Laude Society. Approximately 4,000 students in the United States and worldwide are inducted each year.

List of 1 items.

St. Andrew’s Episcopal School is a private, coeducational college preparatory day school for students in preschool (Age 2) through grade 12, located in Potomac, Maryland.