Upper School Awards Assembly Celebrates the Class of 2020

by St. Andrew's Communications Staff
St. Andrew’s held its Upper School Awards Assembly virtually on Thursday morning to recognize the achievements of the Class of 2020. Awards were handed out for excellence in academics, arts, athletics, leadership, diversity, and dedication to community service.
The awards assembly traditionally takes place the day prior to graduation. This year, however, commencement has been rescheduled for July 31 at Washington National Cathedral.
Sheila Maith, Chair of the Board of Trustees, presented the school’s highest honor, the William Way Award, named for the school’s Founding Board Chair. Daniel González-Kosasky (Amherst College) received the award for his overall excellence in the classroom and achievements as a peer leader, competitive rower and member of the Lion-Cub program, among other accomplishments.
Head of School Robert Kosasky presented the Head of School Award to Michaela James-Thrower (Sewanee: The College of the South) and the David Mayhood Award to Eunice Chang (George Washington University). English teacher Susheela Robinson received the Finneran Faculty Scholar Award, which is granted annually to one St. Andrew’s teacher who embodies excellence and commitment to professional growth and is considered the highest recognition a St. Andrew’s teacher can receive. Nick Tsintolas (Duke University) was named the valedictorian while Josh Lobsenz (Brown University) was named salutatorian.
Here is the full list of award winners:
Excellence in English: Caroline Milne
Excellence in History: Caroline Milne
Excellence in Science: Daniel González-Kosasky
Excellence in Language: Leo Bernstein
Excellence in Math: Nick Tsintolas
Excellence in Performing Arts: Leia Terrenzi
Excellence in Visual Arts: Sarah Schwartz
Excellence in Philosophy & Religion: Julia Topetzes
Richard Klemm Boyd, Jr. Art Award: Grace Chang
Parents Association Award for Sportsmanship: Colin McDermott
Saints Award: Kayla Friedman, Colin Krinsky
SGA/Francisco Hope Award: Josh Lobsenz
Athlete of the Year – Female: Brooke Anya
Athlete of the Year – Male: Thomas Casasola
Senior Paper Award: Ella Gravitz
Salutatorian: Josh Lobsenz
Valedictorian: Nick Tsintolas
Leadership in Equity and Inclusion Award: Tami Akinde
David Mayhood Award: Eunice Chang
Head of School Award: Michaela James-Thrower
William Way Award: Daniel González-Kosasky
The following awards were presented at an assembly last week:
Upper School Faculty Prize (Freshman): Conor Roberton
Upper School Faculty Prize (Sophomore): Yulia Molina
Harvard Book Award (Junior): Cameron Behram
Wellesley Book Award (Junior): Amanda Newcombe
Alexandra Ryan Award (Junior): Kareena Mehta

List of 1 items.

St. Andrew’s Episcopal School is a private, coeducational college preparatory day school for students in preschool (Age 2) through grade 12, located in Potomac, Maryland.