News Detail

St. Andrew’s Names 23 D!Lab Interns, Supported by Derek Park Fund

D!Lab Director Chuck James announced the 2023 cohort of D!Lab Interns on Wednesday, whose projects are supported by the Derek J. Park Fund Grant for Creative Innovation. D!Lab interns are certified on the design lab’s 3D printer, laser cutter, and milling machine, and can use each to work on independent projects.
Derek Park was a student at St. Andrew’s from sixth grade through the first trimester of his ninth-grade year when he died on November 26, 2011. Established shortly after his death, the fund has supported St. Andrew’s teachers and Upper School students in their individual and/or collaborative pursuit of innovative research, learning opportunities, and personal development in those areas that interested Derek: nature and the outdoors, art and design, robotics, and scientific experimentation.
This D!Lab Internship opportunity for materials and specialist training was created by the Derek Park Fund. D!Lab Interns are trained in general safety procedures for the D!Lab as well as provided specific machine endorsements. Interns are awarded certification by James, which enables the student to work independently in the lab on individual and class projects, robotics, or new technologies.
Congratulations to all members of the 2023 cohort:
  • Eliora Adu '24
  • Ryan Agge '23
  • Ruth Amha '26
  • Kayla Bhatia '25
  • Samina Bhatia '25
  • Maya Chandra '26
  • Lucas Chao '26
  • Dustin Cheng '26
  • Sean Connelly '25
  • Yohann Coulibaly '26
  • Mark Hardy '25
  • Connor Herwig '25
  • George Lippard '26
  • Daniel Lobsenz '25
  • Austin Love '26
  • Thomas Ludecke '25
  • Alexander Myler '23
  • Nuri Park '26
  • Ian Sabin '25
  • William Schneider '25
  • Avi Tewari '26
  • Jasmine Wang '24
  • Alice Xiao '26
St. Andrew’s Episcopal School is a private, coeducational college preparatory day school for students in preschool (Age 2) through grade 12, located in Potomac, Maryland.